Ware Town Council

Serving the Local Community

Town Mayor


Councillor David Oldridge was elected Mayor for the new civic year at a ceremony in The Priory on the 21st of May 2018.

Councillor Alexander Curtis is the Deputy Mayor.


If you would like to invite the Mayor to an event, please contact his secretary, Leanne Wootton, at leanne@waretowncouncil.gov.uk. The Mayor’s public engagements calendar and guidance for inviting Cllr. Oldridge to events can also be found through the links below, on this page.

The role of Mayor is principally a symbolic one, with the post being held for 12 months, and elected by the full town council. Past mayors include:

  • Councillor Alexander Curtis (2017-2018)
  • Councillor Jonathan Kaye (2016-2017)
  • Councillor Phyllis Ballam (2015-2016)
  • Councillor Rosalie Standley (2013-2015)
  • Councillor Phyllis Ballam (2012-2013)
  • Alan L. Warman (2011-2012)
  • Edward Bedford (2010-2011)
  • Katherine Little (2009-2010)
  • Phyllis Ballam (2008-2009)
  • George Powell (2007-2008)
  • Terrence Milner (2006-2007)
  • Malcolm Alexander (2005-2006)
  • Phyllis Ballam (2004-2005)
  • Jeanette Taylor (2003-2004)
  • Victoria Shaw (2002-2003)
  • Peter Horry (2001-2002)
  • Jan Wing (2000-2001)

If you would like to invite the Mayor to an event, please email the Mayor’s secretary at

niall@waretowncouncil.gov.uk Written requests can be sent to:
Ware Town Council, Ware Priory, High Street, Ware, Hertfordshire, SG12 9AL


Mayoral Engagement Form

Notes for Organisers of Functions

Civic Events


Join our Newsletter